Friday, April 24, 2009

Keeping the Streak Alive

As you know by now, the U.S. is the only country to qualify for every FIFA U-17 World Cup (formerly the FIFA U-16 World Championship) since the tournament’s inception in 1985 – a total of 13 tournaments.

Some other notable and seemingly perennial U-17 qualifiers:

Team U-17s WCs Notes
Brazil 11 2009 South American qualifying is currently underway
Argentina 9 With No. 10 possibly pending, see above
Nigeria 8 Three time winners, includes automatic bid as ‘09 host
Germany 7 Includes Germany FR (’85) and Germany DR (’87, ’89)

No comments: